top of page

Our Museum

Museum sketch in pencil

The Museum building was the original Holy Innocents Episcopal Church, designed by the Wilson Brothers, a prestigious architectural firm in Philadelphia, Pa.  The church was built in 1882 by Mrs. Charles Parry.  The design of the church is known as shingle style.  

 

By the 1970's, the Episcopal Church needed larger quarters so the historical building went up for sale.  In 1975, the Long Beach Island Historical Association bought it - and the rest is history.

 

The Museum is designed with an open floor plan to allow easy access as you move from exhibit to exhibit. There is also an area to sit and conduct research, take notes or simply browse through the many articles, books and thousands of photographs.

 

The building is handicap accessible and child-friendly with scavenger hunts, STEAM curriculum and a touch and feel area.

Early Pictures of the Museum

Our Board Members

Our association is managed by the Board which is comprised of Officers and Trustees.  Each member is selected and nominated by the existing Board members for the talent and time they bring to the Association and the Museum. 

These people are the heart and soul of the Association, it is their dedication that continues to inspire the curation and success of the museum. 

Current Officers

  • Dr. Denise Cleveland - President

  • Marilyn Hailperin -Vice President

  • Rob Roy - Recording Secretary

  • John Fee - Media & Communications Secretary

  • Bill Appelget - Treasurer

  • Ron Marr - Immediate Past President

Current Trustees

  • Tracy Anderson

  • Keith DeSena 

  • Kay Donnelly 

  • Jan Gartland

  • Toni Gamils

  • Ellen Kehr

  • Carol Kirby

  • Nancy Kunz

  • Jeanette Lloyd

  • Jean Nelson

  • Diane Roy

Past
Presidents

1975 - John Rolfe

1976 - John Coyle

1980 - Arthur Holzbaur

1982 - Rebecca Tarditi

1985 - Dorothy Aspden

1986 - Gretchen Coyle

1989 - Joanne Sencindiver

1991 - Victor Sencidiver

1993 - Ernest Leiss

1995 - Peggy Goyne

1997 - Marge Potosnak

1999 - George Cripps

2001 - Suzette Whiting

2003 - Glen Koch

2004 - Jeanette Lloyd

2004 - George Cripps​

2005 - Suzette Whiting

2007 - James Ciardelli

2013 - Ronald Marr

Museum Event 1.jpg
Museum Event 1.jpg
DSC00137.JPG

Interested in Joining Our Team?

Do you love LBI, learning about it's history and sharing that with others?

Our Volunteers are a team of dedicated individuals who share a passion for preserving and sharing the rich history of this unique island. They are a key, valuable component of our organization and work to create programs and initiatives that help showcase the history of the island for all to enjoy.

Where to Find Us!

Street Address

129 Engleside Avenue

Beach Haven, New Jersey 08008

Main Phone #

609-492-0700

Mailing Address

PO Box 1222

Beach Haven, New Jersey 08008

Social Sites

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
NJ Historical Commission
Ocean County Tourism
Cultural & Heritage Commission of Ocean County
Ocean County Parks & Recreation

Long Beach Island Historical Association received funding from a grant administered by the Ocean County Cultural and Heritage Commission from grants funded by the New Jersey Historical Commission, a division of the Department of State.
LBIHA is a qualified organization of the New Jersey Cultural Trust.

 

handicap accessible.png

The LBIHA is a certified 501(c)(3) organization.

© 2025 LBI Historical Museum. Powered and secured by Wix

bottom of page